An annotated type catalogue of varanid lizards (Reptilia: Squamata: Varanidae) in the collection of the Western Australian Museum

WA Museum Records and Supplements | Updated 5 years ago

ABSTRACT – There are currently 30 recognised species, with 13 subspecies, of varanid lizards (Varanidae: Varanus) occurring in Australia, with 24 known to occur in Western Australia, including five endemic species and one subspecies. Of the 37 Australian varanid species or subspecies, type material for 12 are, or have formerly been, housed in the collection of the Western Australian Museum, including 11 holotypes, 1 neotype and 67 paratypes. Of the 67 paratypes held in the WAM collection, five belonging to V. panoptes rubidus and V. glauerti have not been located and are presumed lost. An annotated catalogue is provided for all varanid type material currently and previously maintained in the herpetological collection of the Western Australian Museum.

Author(s) Ryan J. Ellis
Records 33 : Part 2
Article Published
Page Number