Overall winner 'Feathered Symmetry' by David Stowe shows a bird's wings raised

The 2015 Australian Geographic ANZANG Nature Photographer of the Year collection will open at the Western Australian Museum – Kalgoorlie-Boulder this weekend, with Western Australian photographers winning two of the categories.

The competition’s overall winning image ‘Feathered Symmetry’ by David Stowe will be on display. Captured in New South Wales, it shows a white-winged tern (Chlidonias leucopterusI) stretching its wings, ready for take-off.

WA Museum – Kalgoorlie-Boulder Regional Manager Zoe Scott said she hopes the exhibition will enable visitors to deepen their connection with nature.

ANZANG’s amazing photos show you aspects of nature that you would never think existed,” Ms Scott said.

“The detail in some of them is just mind-blowing.”

‘Our Impact’ category winner Perfect Predator by Western Australian photographer Leon Rakai shows an aggressive male cat which had been trapped to help reduce impacts on the endangered red-tailed phascogale, a small carnivorous marsupial that has suffered an estimated 99 per cent reduction in its distribution since European settlement.

The ‘Threatened Species’ category was also won by a Western Australian photographer. Georgina Steytler’s photo Juvenile Australian Fairy Tern was captured at Woodman Point in WA.

The 2015 Australian Geographic ANZANG Nature Photographer of the Year collection will be on display at the WA Museum – Kalgoorlie-Boulder from 7 May – 14 August 2016. Entry is free.

ANZANG is a partnership between the South Australian Museum and Australian Geographic. Open to photographers of all ages, skill levels and nationalities, ANZANG asks people to submit images of fauna, flora or landscapes in Australia, New Zealand, Antarctica and the New Guinea region.

“Every year I think, these are spectacular images, they can’t get any better. And every year, they do!” Ms Scott said.

The spectacular images in ANZANG highlight the region’s diverse and stunning beauty and the important role the Museum plays in helping people connect with the natural world.

The Australian Geographic ANZANG Nature Photographer of the Year competition is owned by the South Australian Museum.


List of winners of the nine categories:

Animal Portrait
Ross Gudgeon (NSW) for Red jellyfish

Animal Behaviour
Judith Deland (ACT) for Lyrebird in the mist

Animal Habitat
Johnny Gaskell (Vic) for Mantas

Drew Hopper (NSW) for Antarctic beech forest

Peter Hill (NSW) for Edith Falls study 1

Doug Gimesy (Vic) for Devil’s punchbowl

Marc Lynch (NSW) for Bat blurs

Junior (photographers under 18 years of age)
Ryan North (NSW) for Waterfall

Portfolio Prize (best portfolio of size or more images)
Justin Gilligan (NSW)

Media contact
Sharna Craig
Media and Publicity Officer
Western Australian Museum